New Alaska House committee chairs announced

    Rep. Ivy Spohnholz

    Juneau, Alaska (KINY) - The Alaska House of Representatives gaveled in on Tuesday to begin the 2nd session of the 31st Legislature in Juneau, with new committee chairs being announced by the Committee on Committees.

    Representative Ivy Spohnholz was picked as the chair of the Labor and Commerce Committee.

    Fairbanks Rep. Adam Wool previously chaired the committee but has since moved to the House Finance Committee after Rep. Tammie Wilson left the House Majority last session.

    Bethel Rep. Tiffany Zulkosky was named as chair of Health and Social Services, and Rep. Steve Thompson has been named co-chair of the House Military and Veterans’ Affairs committee.

    Rep. Louise Stutes will chair Transportation. Newly-appointed Rep. Mel Gillis will sit on the Transportation and Labor and Commerce committees, and also on the Arctic Policy, Economic Development and Tourism special committee.

    The House approved the Committee on Committees report on a 23-15 vote. Additionally, 34 new bills were introduced from those among pre-files this session.

    More from Ketchikan News