Alaska teacher named Finalist for National Teacher of the Year

    Harlee Harvey, 2023 Alaska Teacher of the Year (Photo courtesy of Alaska Department of Education & Early Development)

    Juneau, Alaska (KINY) - The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) announced that 2023 Alaska Teacher of the Year, Harlee Harvey, is one of five finalists for 2023 National Teacher of the Year

    Harvey is a first-grade teacher at Tikiġaq School in Point Hope.

    She has taught in the North Slope Borough School District since graduating from the University of Alaska Fairbanks in 2014.

    "On behalf of all Alaskans, congratulations to Ms. Harvey for this outstanding recognition," said Governor Mike Dunleavy. "As a former educator in rural Alaska, I know that teachers in remote areas face unique challenges. Where others see obstacles, Ms. Harvey sees opportunity, and the students of Point Hope benefit from her commitment to excellence."

    Harvey has been involved with numerous staff development programs and extracurricular activities for students including the Inupiaq Spelling Bee, Battle of the Books, and is a Mapkuk Mentor for the North Slope Borough School District’s cultural curriculum project.

    Harvey’s classroom environment and instruction is centered on culturally responsive practices.

    Her peers commend her for her knowledge and respect of the Inupiaq culture.

    Similarly, her decision to make Point Hope her home and become involved in the community outside of the classroom has helped earn her respect and facilitates connecting with students.

    "Ms. Harvey is not only among the finest educators in Alaska, but this nomination shows that she is among the best in the country," Acting Commissioner Heidi Teshner said. "Alaska is lucky to have both the teaching skill and commitment to community Ms. Harvey demonstrates."

    Harvey completed her Bachelor of Arts in Elementary Education at the University of Alaska Fairbanks.

    While teaching, she earned her Master of Education in English as second language and bilingual education through the American College of Education.

    Harvey received her educational specialist degree in educational leadership from the American College of Education in 2020 and returned in May of 2022 to finish her doctorate.

    CCSSO’s National Teacher of the Year Program identifies exceptional teachers across the country, celebrates their work in and outside the classroom, and, through one-of-a-kind professional development opportunities, helps them amplify their voices and empowers them to take part in policy discussions at the state and national level. 

    More information about the 2023 State Teachers of the Year, the finalists and the National Teacher of the Year Program is available here.

    More from News of the North