Alaskan Teacher of the Year named for 2021

    Commissioner Michael Johnson presents Kelly Shrein with a plaque commemorating her designation of 2021-2022 Alaska Teacher of the Year. (Photo Credit: Louis Velasco/Anchorage School District)

    Anchorage, Alaska (KINY) - Kelly Shrein of Northwood Elementary in Anchorage School District was announced to be the 2021-2022 Alaska Teacher of the Year.

    The COVID-19 pandemic had made many schools adapt to distance learning, and during that period Shrein drove by each students’ house expressing how much they were missed as well as writing postcards, setting up Zooms, and making phone calls consistently through the Spring and Summer.

    As Alaska Teacher of the Year, Shrein will have a seat on Commissioner Johnson’s Teacher and Educator Advisory Council.

    She will also be Alaska’s nominee for National Teacher of the Year.

    Shrein is a 2013 graduate of the University of Alaska Anchorage and has been with the Anchorage School District since 2013.

    She earned a Master’s of Education in Reading and Learning at Walden University.

    This year 109 educators in Alaska were nominated to be considered for Teacher of the Year.

    More from News of the North