Governor's Marine Highway Reshaping Work Group to meet

    Gov. Mike Dunleavy

    Juneau, Alaska (KINY) - The Alaska Marine Highway Reshaping Work Group will hold its first meeting on Feb. 27, from 3:30 to 4:30 p.m.

    The first meeting will be purely administrative, with the goal of getting the group organized for the future. Agenda items include introductions, scheduling of future meetings and setting the next meeting date.

    Alaskans and other interested parties can call into the meeting by dialing 1-650-479-3207, access code 803 315 083 and password 54779793#.

    During this meeting, there will not be a public comment period, but there will be opportunities for public participation in the future.

    On Jan. 17, through Admin Order 313, Gov. Mike Dunleavy established the Alaska Marine Highway Reshaping Work Group.

    The group is tasked with providing recommendations on the future finances and service levels of the Alaska Marine Highway System to the governor, using data from the AMHS Reshaping Study.

    The Work Group consists of nine members and a chair, appointed by the governor, who serve without compensation but will be reimbursed for travel and meeting expenses.

    The Work Group members are Adm. (Ret) Tom Barrett (Chair), John Torgerson, Wanetta Ayers, Lee Ryan, Ben Goldrich, Robert Venables, Tony Johansen,
    Sen. Bert Stedman, Rep. Louise Stutes.

    Barrett most recently retired as president of Alyeska Pipeline Service Company, and also served as Deputy Secretary of the U.S. Department of Transportation.

    The Work Group will define the purpose and need of the AMHS with the goal to reduce the state’s financial obligations to a sustainable level. Recommendations from the Work Group will be completed by Sept. 30, 2020, with the goal to begin implementation in FY 2023.


    More from News of the North