Region V Tournament Awards Presented in Ketchikan

    The Region V Boys All-Conference team are Kayhi senior Josh Rhoads, JDHS sophomores Sean Oliver and Alwen Carrillo, TMHS sophomores Thomas Baxter and Samuel Lockhart, and Kayhi junior JJ Parker. (courtesy photo TMHS)

    Juneau, Alaska (KINY) - The Juneau-Douglas High School: Kalé Crimson Bears and Thunder Mountain Falcons were awarded not only for top basketball play at the Region V championships in Ketchikan last week but also academics and sportsmanship.

      The Region V tournament at Ketchikan High School featured basketball, dance team and cheer team competition. Following are basketball awards presented at the Region V tournament, including all-conference, academic, and shooting contests.


    4A Girls Champion - Ketchikan.

    4A Boys Champion - Juneau-Douglas.

    2A Girls Champion - Wrangell.

    2A Girls Runner Up - Metlakatla.

    2A Boys Champion - Metlakatla.

    2A Boys Runner Up - Petersburg.

    Sportsmanship Award - Craig.


      2A Girls

    Craig - Shaylee Johnson.

    Haines - Sadie Anderson.

    Metlakatla - Ryley Booth, Bree Chavez, Kennedy Cook.

    Petersburg - Ines Larson, Kaili Simbahon.

    Wrangell - Kendra Meissner, Kiara Harrison, Jamie Early.

      2A Boys

    Haines - Luke Davis, Eric Gillham.

    Metlakatla - Cameron Gaube, Harvey Booth, Shane Anderson.

    Petersburg - Michael Durkin, Kyle Biggers, Lathum Johnson.

    Wrangell - Jacen Hay, Devlyn Campbell.

      4A Girls

    Juneau-Douglas - Trinity Jackson, Skylar Tuckwood.

    Thunder Mountain - Sydney Strong.

    Ketchikan - Shae Mendoza, Lindsay Byron, Bree Johnson.

      4A Boys

    Juneau-Douglas - Alwen Carrillo, Sean Oliver.

    Thunder Mountain - Sam Lockhart, Thomas Baxter.

    Ketchikan - JJ Parker, Josh Rhoads.


    Juneau-Douglas - Tias Carney, Alyx Bohulano, Gabbi George-Frank, Rebekah Grube.

    Thunder Mountain - Matthew Johns, Matthew Hartsock, Grace Sikes, Jo Pasion.

    Ketchikan - Kyle Congdon, Joeben Lorenzo, Hya Bondoc, Gabby Mas.

    Craig - Ben Mools, Jason Fowler, Shaylee Johnson, Priscilla Trudeau.

    Petersburg - Rik Cumps, Kieran Cabral, Kennedy Conn, Anya Pawuk.

    Wrangell - Tyson Messmer, Leroy Wynne, Kiara Harrison, Kayla Meissner.

    Metlakatla - Carter Marsden, Aaron O’Brien, Piper Booth, Ava Peratovich.

    Haines - Zander Willard, Caleb Holm, Emma Dohrn, Alison Benda.

      ACADEMIC AWARD (basketball, pep band, cheer/dance):

    Juneau-Douglas - Elliott Costello, Rebekah Grube, Samuel Holst, Clare Homan, Sam Marnon, Jackson Marx, Charlie Musslewhite, Natanya Reed, Zayden Schijvens, Ella Schwartz, Adrian Whitney, Ki’yana Ivy, Kalla Arreola, Hallie Mertl, Gabrielle George-Frank, Erlyn Penalosa, Alyx Bohulano, Matthias Carney, Adrell Mulgrew-Truitt, Jake Sleppy.

    Thunder Mountain - Isaiah Nelson, Noah Chambers, Wallace Adams, Matt Hartsock, Matthew Johns, Grace Stewart, Anne-Alese Rentrop, Jamaica Walter, Rayna Gehring, Sydney Strong, Grace Sikes, Cael Brown, Reece Bunten, Katlyann Larue, Gabriel Carabajal, Abigail Rice, John Magahales, Devin Moorehead.

    Ketchikan - Paige Boehlert, Hayley Gilson, Shaelyn Mendoza, Jenea Rhoads, Kyle Congdon, Joshua Rhoads, Sara Cummings, Chloe Gosnell, Makena Johansen, Shelbi Johansen, Shelby Kamm, Brady Kaye, Hannah Moody, Ada Odden, Jodee Paule, Brock Thomas, John Bullock, Anna Hout, Sandra Johnston, Jacob Pattison, Julia Spigai, Emma Bowers.

    Craig - Shaylee Johnson, Halli Bennett, Ben Moots, Colin Rice, Kyle Smith.

    Haines - Sadie Anderson, Taylor Ganey, Natalie Jobbins, Aubrey Cook.

    Metlakatla - Amelia Miller, Mason Nelson, Alicia Feak-Lent.

    Petersburg - Ines Larson, Kaili Simbahon, Kennedy Conn, Lathum Johnson, Karissa Biggers, Leiah Kittams, Bergen Kludt-Painter, Sean Spigelmyre, Caleb Pfundt, Rose Quitslund, Allie Morgan.

    Wrangell - Kendra Meissner, Jamie Early, Liana Carney, Tyson Messmer, Ryan Rooney, Grace Miller, Mercedes Morgan.


    Free Throw Boys - Joeben Lorenzo, Ketchikan, 25-25.

    Free Throw Girls - Jenae Rhoads, Ketchikan, 22-25.

    3-Pt. Contest Boys - Harvey Booth, Metlakatla.

    3-Pt. Contest Girls - Ryley Booth, Metlakatla.

    The March Madness Alaska 2022 ASAA/First National Bank Alaska 1A/2A Basketball Championships begin tomorrow and run through Saturday at Anchorage’s Alaska Airlines Center.

      The March Madness Alaska 2022 3A/4A Championships are March 23-26 at the Alaska Airlines Center.

    More from Sports

    • High School Harriers Stay the Course

      Juneau, Alaska (KINY) - With the first prep cross-country race of the season set to begin at 10:30 a.m. Saturday along the Treadwell Mine Ruins Trail in Douglas, the Juneau-Douglas High School: Kalé Crimson Bears and Thunder Mountain High School Falcons are ready to welcome schools from Haines and Petersburg in the Sayeik Invitational.

    • Beat the Odds Race against Cancer Set for Saturday

      Juneau, Alaska (KINY) - Saturday at 9 a.m. one of the largest gatherings of like-minded community members will don race bibs at the Riverbend Elementary covered play area to address a disease that is the leading cause of death worldwide.

    • East, Colony, Juneau Top Football Polls

      Juneau, Alaska (KINY) - The Juneau Huskies, East Anchorage Thunderbirds and Colony Knights all opened the prep season last weekend with wins and sit atop the Alaska Sports Broadcasting Network Poll in Division I.

    • Pepperdine Starter Kendyl Carson Returns to Roots

      Juneau, Alaska (KINY) - She doesn’t have to shovel snow off the driveway when looking for a game now but Pepperdine University starting point guard Kendyl Carson remembers those elementary school days that led her across Juneau middle and high school courts to sandy beaches in Malibu, California.

    • Hoonah Hosts First Annual Hoops Camp

      Juneau, Alaska (KINY) - Once considered a hot-bed for youth basketball play in Southeast Alaska the city of Hoonah is hoping to reinvigorate that passion through their roots on the hardwood courts.


    Add a comment

    Log in to the club or enter your details below.